Phobia

The word Phobia, pronounced Fobia, is derived from the Greek word Phóbos which means “fear”, luckily enough the definition of Phobia can also be summed in that four letter word, F E A R.

It is funny how the most intelligent species that ever walked the earth can get goose bumps by just hearing the word Phobia, without thinking twice, we start remembering the things that scare us the most, start torturing ourselves with mental images  and for no reason scare ourselves half to death !

Scientists have classified the types of Phobia into 3 general categories:

  1. Social Phobia: Fear of people or social situations
  2. Specific Phobia: Fear of something specific
  3. Agoraphobia: Fear of leaving home or your comfort spot

Now, you might be wondering why I’m writing about Phobia, have I actually gone completely mad?

(lets face it, I was on the edge).

Unfortunately I haven’t gone mad yet, but I was once surfing the internet and saw a ‘List of Phobias’ that I couldn’t help but go through. (don’t ask me why, I just had to)

After reading the list of Phobias I first thought Human beings can be very ridiculous, then I thought Human beings can seriously be very ridiculous, but then I started to think about some of these Phobias and how they can seriously effect the way we live, the more I thought about it the more I realized how much fear controls us.

Phobia is more common than we think it is, and Phobia doesn’t have to be scary like being shot to death, there are some people who are afraid of laughing !! (believe me, its called Geliophobia) Although the kind of Phobias out there can sometimes be a bit hard to believe, some of them actually make a lot of sense.

So being the nice person that I am, I am going to start a series on different kinds of Phobia, not to make fun of people or the types of Phobias that exists, but to take some of these Phobias and see how they effect our daily life, not as a Phobia per say, but as something we fear.

 

 

Leave a Reply

