The weekend of change

Thursday evening, while I was checking my Twitter timeline (and I check my twitter timeline every waking minute), I realized something .. my timeline was ‘different’ .. I saw the usual tweeps with their usual avatars .. but the hashtags were not usual at all ..

My timelime was filled with hashtags like #ThinkupGCC #TedxDubai #MangaJigsaw #swdxb #dubaicares #VolunteerEmirates .. Everytime I read one of those hashtags I would smile to myself .. when I realized I was reading them all at the same time, my heart skipped a beat .. That’s when I decided to call this weekend “the weekend of change” ..

I couldn’t stop smiling at all the astonishing things that were happening around me at the same time .. astonishing things that were driven by Emiraties .. The same Emiraties that were once  stereotyped as ‘lazy’, ‘careless’, ‘childish’ and ‘immature’ ..

I hated being stereotyped and being called those names .. I did a lot to change the way people viewed us, but the only response I used to get was ‘you are an exception’ .. Today, I can proudly say that I am not ..

I saw all the awesome tweets related to those hashtags and those events .. I wished I could attend all of them, but I wasnt lucky enough .. I did however attend TedxDubai ..

I flew with joy the minute I walked into the TedxDubai registration area .. I was overwhelmed by the number of Emirati volunteers and attendees .. I was proud to see how the younger generation was taking charge and how passionate they were about what they were doing .. I was even more proud when I saw them running around getting things in order and how the attendees were eager to get in and get inspired ..

5 years ago if someone had come to and told me that Emiraties from my generation and even younger were going to not only participate but organize events like these, I would have smiled and said “one day they will, however, 5 years, i dont think so” .. but here I am today, looking at my timeline, reading my tweets, smiling, feeling proud and seeing my fellow peers take the UAE by storm .. I dont think I have ever been so happy to be proven wrong !

To those who were part of those events .. you are luckier than you imagine .. to those who didnt attend any .. i would strongly recommend you to catch up quickly !

A final note before I sign off ..

My dear Emiraties .. You are one of the reasons I am proud to be part of this great nation .. This weekend changed my life .. This weekend YOU changed my life .. and I can only hope to return the favor one day ..

 

Leave a Reply

