Flowers in a tissue

I have been wanting to write a post for some time now, I actually drafted a few but couldn’t get them to the level that made me happy, it was driving me crazy, I don’t like the feeling i get when I can’t write… And then I did something today that is never in my daily schedule, one thing led to another and I suddenly had this rush of thoughts in my mind…  Thoughts that were linked to Flowers in a tissue…

I can already see the different facial reactions on people’s faces to that last statement and the title of this post, so I will get straight to the story… however to understand the story well, there are a couple of facts that I need to state:

Fact 1) I love Jasmines (the flowers), so we have a small tree in front of our house and it has been there for years

Fact 2) for the past year or so, my parking spot in the house was hijacked so I park my car almost in front of the house’s entrance , right next to the Jasmine tree

and now for the story…

I was leaving the house this morning and noticed that my mom hadn’t picked the flowers for a few days so they were all dried up, so out of no where I decided to clean up as much as I could from the tree and take a few flowers with me to the office. To make sure the flowers wouldn’t get scattered, I put them in a tissue and gently placed them in the cup holder… and being the person that i am , I completely forgot about them…

6 hours later when i came back home from work I saw the tissue and remembered the flowers!!

I sighed and opened the tissue… but guess what happened??

I smelled the most beautiful scent I could ever imagine… and then the ideas came rushing…

I thought that how these flowers were in the car for so long but didn’t leave any aroma because the tissue was covering them, and once they were out, they filled the car with their beautiful scent… then I realized, how similar we as human beings are to these flowers…

Sometimes, we forget that we can spread these beautiful scents all over the world, by unleashing ourselves to the different things around us, we tend to either cover ourselves up in this “tissue” and/or sometimes get covered up weather we like it or not…

I remember when my friends and I were in college, we used to do a million different tasks, we used to challenge ourselves and constantly leave our comfort zones to try new things, to go on new adventures… It was useful, helpful and most of all we had fun doing it!

It didn’t only feel good, but it felt liberating ! 

And then I saw myself and my friends today, stuck at work with people trying to cover us up with “tissues” to stop us from showing our true talents, sticking to our comfort zones, not challenging ourselves anymore, doing much less than what we used to do, underestimating our own strength and knowledge…

Unfortunately i don’t only see this is happening to my friends and I, but I see it as an overall situation happening to everyone around me!

I wonder what happened and how we ended up this way…

The good news is… If we put your mind to it… This “tissue” will gradually start to open and we will be able to shine like never before… The only rule is, we have to want it enough to push our way through…

The other good news is I have seen this happen to people (thanks to something called Twitter), and its happening now more than ever…

These stories aren’t of legends, but are of  people who live among us now and decided that this “tissue” is not going to stop them any longer… I wish I could start naming some of them, but I won’t simply because i know I will miss out on some and I don’t want that…

So remember, this is our time to shine, our time to take up the challenges, our time to do the changes, our time to live… For the flowers in the tissue would have gone to waste if the tissue was never opened…

One response to “Flowers in a tissue

Leave a Reply

